Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

Not guilt, but grace…


By Bobby Schuller, Hour of Power Pastor

“See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God…”
-Hebrews 12:15a

Christianity is not meant to be guilt driven; it’s meant to be grace driven.

I remember when I first came to faith, I found myself often on a rollercoaster. I would be close to God and then I would fall off the wagon. Maybe you’ve experienced that. There were times when I felt like I would experience God the most right after I sinned. I would sin or mess up, and then I would come to God in a spirit of repentance and receive His forgiveness. And that was the moment when I felt God the most because all the understanding I had of grace was forgiveness of sins.

I didn’t understand that even when I’m not sinning, grace still abounds. Even if I could live a perfect life, which I can’t, even then grace would be given to me – God’s joy, and pleasure, and good will.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I feel the guilt I have been carrying lift as I accept your grace and forgiveness. In its place, my heart is being filled with your joy, pleasure, and good will. Amen.

Reflection: As a person of faith, have you been driven by guilt in the past? How does it change your outlook to know that God’s grace, instead, will be what empowers your life?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,695 other followers

