Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

Face to face…


By Pastor Bobby Schuller

“‘What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived’ – the things God has prepared for those who love him.”
-1 Corinthians 2:9

The great spiritual thinker and author, Brendon Manning, in the twilight of his life after spending thousands of hours in solitude and prayer, said, “I realize and I believe in my heart that when we die and come to face God on judgment day, God will ask us one question, and one question alone. He will ask us, when we’re standing there before him, did you believe that I love you?”

True Christians will say, “Yes, Lord, I knew you loved me, even in my wretchedness and my sin and my brokenness, in my hurting. Even in my loathing and in my lack of work and laziness and all of those things, I knew you loved me.”

I wonder about myself, what would I say? When God can see the depths of my heart and words don’t matter because he already knows what I did and what I think, can I say, “Yes, I knew truly, my whole life, that you loved me”? I hope I will be able to say to him, “It was that knowledge that inspired everything I did in faith and religion, and the way I treated my neighbor. Everything came from knowing that you loved me.”

Sadly, some of us on that day will say, “No, Lord, I didn’t know you loved me.” Yet, even so, he will say, “Welcome and know my love now.” Because God’s love is so grand and so rich and so unending that, even if you don’t know it now, you will know it then. And you’ll wish you had carried it with you through life. Because all morality, all goodness, all strength comes from deeply understanding and knowing God’s love.

Prayer: Dear Lord, even though there are moments, days, and even seasons that I don’t feel your love, I know it’s not because you don’t love me. My hope is that I grow increasingly aware of your unending, unconditional love so that I will be able to say, “Yes, I knew that you loved me.” Amen.

Reflection: If this moment were your first moment in heaven, face to face with God, how would you answer his question?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

