Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

Non-negotiable…


By Pastor Bobby Schuller

“Look at my hands and my feet. It is I myself! Touch me and see; a ghost does not have flesh and bones, as you see I have.”
-Luke 24:39

The body is an important part of old-school Christian theology, and a lot of it has been lost in the new thought in the last century. However, when you read the old documents from the church, you’ll read that God loves the human body.

That’s why it was so important to early Christians that this fact is non-negotiable: Jesus was resurrected from the dead in his real physical body with holes in his hands and in his feet. That’s a non-negotiable Orthodox Christian teaching.

In those days, the Gnostics wanted to teach that he was raised in spirit because only the spirit mattered. You can read literally hundreds of documents from the early church that say, “No!” It’s not just the spirit that matters, but the body matters because God loves the body. With all of its aging and sickness and brokenness and white hairs, amidst all of that, God loves your body and chooses to call your body his temple. That matters.

If you start to meditate on this biblical truth, you’ll soon discover how your spirituality grows and changes in a big way. Try it, and see!

Prayer: Dear Lord, I struggle to understand how important my body is in comparison to my mind and spirit, especially my spirit. Sometimes the needs of my body outweigh those of my spirit and vice versa. You bring balance to my life and make me whole. Amen.

Reflection: What are your thoughts about the spiritual importance of the body?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

