Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

Screaming out…


By Pastor Bobby Schuller

“Hear my voice when I call, Lord; be merciful to me and answer me. My heart says of you, ‘Seek his face!’ Your face, Lord, I will seek.”
-Psalm 27:7-8

Many of the things that we experience in life – hunger, thirst, lust, anger, and compulsive needs like shopping – all revolve around and live in our bodies. It’s as if, on some level, our minds have been renewed and our spirits have been renewed, but not our bodies.

Parts of our bodies argue with our minds. I know some of you have said in your mind, “I’m not going to eat that chocolate cake,” or “I’m not going to buy that expensive item,” or “I’m not going to lash out at that rude person,” but your body fights you, saying, “Yes, you are.” Our bodies’ urges may make us not like ourselves.

Nevertheless, God loves your body and wants to train it, subdue it, and conquer it with his love. You see, when we don’t understand God’s love, our bodies cry out for intimacy, and thereby for all these carnal pleasures. Our bodies scream for it. And, like scratching a mosquito bite, when we give in to those carnal pleasures, for a minute we feel a little better, but later we need even more.

Our bodies are screaming out for intimacy with God, to know his love, and he is available to meet your every need.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I scream out for intimacy and closeness with you. Come near and soothe me. Take away my need for things that can hurt me. Be my rock and my shield. Protect me from my own unhealthy desires. Amen.

Reflection: How does God’s intimate love for you help you to subdue out-of-control, compulsive behaviors?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

