Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

Just do it…


By Pastor Bobby Schuller

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”
-Colossians 3:17

If you’d like to understand more about what it means to “abide in Jesus,” don’t try anything else, and for the rest of your life, just do this:

Always do the next right thing.

If we want the world to take us seriously in what we claim to be true, we need to do what is right and not do what is wrong. It’s just that simple. We need to be people that bear the fruit and not the legalism, consistently doing the next right thing.

You get good at new behaviors not when you’ve just read about them or talked about them. You get good when you practice them. If I were to go into heart surgery, or brain surgery, I would not want the surgeon to come in and say, “I’m going to be honest with you, I’ve never done a surgery before, but I have read every book, magazine, and article there is to know about surgery. I know more than anybody does. Trust me.” God doesn’t want Christians like that, either.

Start practicing; start doing the next right thing today and you’ll soon master it.

Prayer: Dear Lord, as I grow  to be more like you as I read your word and follow your example, help me to know almost instinctively what “right thing” you need me to do next. Help this behavior to become more natural with each passing day. Amen.

Reflection: What did you do most recently that you would consider “the next right thing”?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

